About Equity Studies

The Department of Equity Studies (DES) offers a learning environment that values cultural diversity and supports social equality. It provides students with understanding of the social issues that shape their interests, introduces them to diverse communities within Canada, develops understanding of social justice, and raises awareness of our multiple identities. Students gain a critical grounding in theories, and research methods in ways that allow them to link their education with several degrees and certificates. DES welcomes students who are interested in Diaspora Studies, Human Rights, Canadian Multiculturalism, Anti-Racist Research, Indigenous Thought and Equity seeking efforts.

Apart from the Human Rights and Equity Studies (HREQ) program, the Department of Equity Studies also offers the Multicultural and Indigenous Studies (MIST) program. Within MIST, students can pursue streams in Diaspora Studies, Race and Multiculturalism and Indigenous Studies. Some of our students choose to do a double major combining HREQ and MIST. In addition you can also do a double major with a program outside DES in the Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies.

Along with the Human Rights & Equity Studies degree, you have the option of pursuing a number of certificates, including the Certificate in Indigenous Studies, Certificate in Anti-Racist Research and Practice (CARRP) and a Certificate in Refugee and Migration Studies (in conjunction with the Centre for Refugee Studies).

In addition, DES is negotiating access into the accelerated program in Social Service Worker Program in Seneca College and upon completion of that you will be eligible to be licensed by the Ontario Association of Social Workers and Social Service Workers.

You have all these options to consider and we are here to help you explore these opportunities. Please feel free to contact us at 416 736 5235 or email to deqs@yorku.ca or just drop-in and see us in 302 Atkinson.

In DES we have a very vibrant student association (Equity Studies Student Association, ESSA) that works with our faculty and staff to assist you throughout your university career. They will be very happy to hear from and have you join them. Feel free to contact ESSA at 416 736 2100 extension 33835 or email them essayork@gmail.com

DES includes highly regarded and renowned professors such as Professors Claudio Colaguori, Tania Das Gupta, Minoo Derayeh, Lorne Foster, Merle Jacobs, Saeed Haydarali, Bonita Lawrence James Laxer, David McNab, Haideh Moghissi (holding the prestigious Trudeau Fellowship), Mona Oikawa, Walter Perchal, Saeed Rahnema. Feel free to google them to find more information about their research.